What is unique about universities of technology and what are the benefits of studying at these institutions?

Universities and universities of technology offer similar qualifications ranging from Higher Certificates (as the entry into higher education) up to Doctoral degrees. The distinguishing factor is that universities of technology focus on technology innovation and transfer and offer technological career-directed educational programmes. They engage with industry to produce innovative problem-solving research. Many of the programmes offered include work-integrated learning that requires students to complete a structured programme while working in an organisation. This exposure to industry develops additional competencies that are not gained through purely academic programmes and assists graduates to find employment after graduation.


Universities of technology

There are six universities of technology with campuses in all provinces except in the Eastern Cape.

Universities of Technology Location & campuses Website
Cape Peninsula University of Technology Western Cape: Cape Town www.cput.ac.za
Central University of Technology Free State: Bloemfontein, Welkom
Northern Cape: Kimberley
Durban University of Technology KwaZulu-Natal: Durban, Pietermaritzburg www.dut.ac.za
Mangosuthu University of Technology KwaZulu-Natal: Umlazi www.mut.ac.za
Tshwane University of Technology Gauteng: Pretoria, Soshanguve, Ga-Rankuwa
Mpumalanga: Mbombela, eMalahleni
Limpopo: Polokwane
A footprint in the North-West Province
Vaal University of Technology Gauteng: Vanderbijlpark, Secunda, Kempton Park, Sebokeng
Northern Cape: Upington